Players will be drawn into group A or Group B at least a week before the event. This means that players in Group B do not need to arrive at the rink ahead of the first session. Within each group, teams will be drawn just prior to the first game.


The players will be divided into 2 groups. Each group will have 4, 6 or 8 teams in it. Each team will play against 3 other teams in their group. The draw will be decided in advance, it will not be a shenkel.


  • Each team will play 6 stones in an end.
  • The 5 rock will apply.
  • Play until the bell goes at 1 hour and 5 minutes. Then all play stops. If an uneven number of stones have been played then 1 more stone is played so that each team have played the same number of stones (whether that be 1 or 6). The end is then scored as the stones lie.
  • 2 points for a win, 1 for a draw.
  • The Competition will be run on points, ends won, +/- shots, then total shots scored.

8 Team Draw

Game 1Game 2Game 3
1 v 24 v 85 v 7
3 v 41 v 56 v 8
5 v 63 v 72 v 4
7 v 82 v 61 v 3

6 Team Draw

Game 1Game 2Game 3
1 v 23 v 64 v 5
3 v 42 v 51 v 6
5 v 61 v 42 v 3

4 Team Draw

Game 1Game 2Game 3
1 v 22 v 41 v 4
3 v 41 v 32 v 3


Kirkforthar Cup

For the winners of the pairs competition.

For more information and a list of previous winners click the link above.

Scougal Vase

For to the runners up.

More information and previous winners can be seen by clicking on the link above.