Wooden Spoons (Hog Trophy)

When the club first started, the ladies were sometimes very bad at hogging their stones. In the early days, ice conditions were nowhere near as good as they are now, and this was usually due to the ice being heavy and very misty first thing in in the morning.

In an attempt to stop her team hogging stones, Gay Deas began fining them each time they offended – a silver fine was payable for each hogged stone. At the end of the first season the money collected was used to buy a large wooden fork and spoon, which were presented to the club by Gay and her rink.

These have been presented each year since 1979 to the lowest rink in the Jubilee competition – for being sporting losers.