Morton Finals 2020

Morton Winners 2020

The finals of the Morton competition took place in Forfar on 10th March 2020. In the semi final, Kinross had to play Ayr who had beaten us twice before in the final. Ayr started really strong and were up on all 3 sheets. One game finished early with Ayr the winner while the other games continued. Kinross hung in and took it to the very last stone in both games to secure the win and the place in the final.

The final was against Stirling, one Kinross rink was well up, another down. They were both finished, leaving the final game to decide. It also came down to the last stone. To the great relief of everyone from Kinross, both players and supporters, we had finally won the Morton. This was the first time Kinross had ever won this competition which has been running since 1965.

The Teams in the final were:

Irene Bailley (skip), Lynne Stevenson, Fiona Doig, Eileen Thomas
Maggie Scott (skip), Pat McFarlane, Fiona Rutherford, Elaine Spain
Angela Wilcox (skip), Laurie McKerrow, Debbie Weir, Maggie Saunderson

Thanks must also go to all the ladies that played in the early stages of the competition, without them we would not have made it to the final.